Our life in The Hebrides

Dr Richard Gulliver

West Midlands
Notice Period:
Regular (more than one month's notice)
Paid: 0 - 70 miles from Shrewsbury, £55 very small groups; £85 other groups. 70 - 200 miles - enquire
20th September 2019
Anecdotes | Wildlife | Scotland | Hebrides

A miscellany of anecdotes and experiences are drawn from 27 years of living in the Hebrides Many people dream of living a simpler life in beautiful, natural surroundings. Our dream became reality when we moved to the tiny Hebridean island of Colonsay in 1991. My wife, Mavis, became head-teacher of the island school and I, in addition to being part-time teacher and occasional bus driver, embarked on botanical research. Six years later, we moved to the larger Isle of Islay where further adventures awaited us.

Views: 417 | Enquiries: 0

About Dr Richard Gulliver

I am a Shropshire-based botanist, ecologist and wildlife enthusiast. I have a PhD in seed science and have been an Open University Ecology Tutor, teacher of natural history classes and courses, Education Officer for the North York Moors National Park and a Primary School Teacher. My wife and I are joint authors of the Aidgap guides - Orchids, Woodland Flowers and Grassland Flowers 1. We spent 27 years in the Hebrides engaged in wildlife surveys and teaching. In 2007 we were involved in the development of The Botanist Islay Dry Gin and, until we retired in 2017, we collected and prepared all the local botanicals for every distillation. This provides the focus of our most popular illustrated talk. Many of my talks are interactive, all are illustrated and are enlivened by anecdotes and experiences gained throughout my varied career.

Send a message to the speaker

If you are interested in this talk and wish to contact the speaker, please complete the following form:

Please provide your contact name
Please provide the name of your group
Your phone number so that the speaker can contact you
Your email address so that the speaker can contact you
Give details about the event, time of day and location